The Best End to a Golden Week (+ surprise pics)

I didn’t think it was possible for me to sleep so deeply in a tent, but Friday night – my intended last night in Niijima – saw me completely passed out in the blissful silence of no crazy wind.

In the morning, I woke up early to roll up my things and pack up my tent. The Farmers and Jo were also leaving on the 11 o’ clock ferry, so I was waiting for them to finalize their packing. In the meantime, I breakfasted with a pastry from the day before and a banana from Shiho, and hooped casually. And in between, the girls attempted to convince me to stay for one more night. Shiho even offered to call the harbor office to change my ticket for me.

They’d started from the night before, while I was teaching them all of my personal tricks. I’d thought about it as I fell asleep and was still trying to decide even as I was rolling up my tent; but eventually, my defenses broke down. As we helped the Farmers bring their things to the parking lot, I handed my phone over to Shiho and she called the number posted on the campground bulletin board. In a few minutes, it was done; and not only did she change my ticket free of charge, she got me an even cheaper seat than I’d originally purchased!

So I was staying for another day of hooping and playing and sun. Today was the best day yet – the wind was perfect, the sky was blue, and there was even a reggae party at the beach.

We had a partner-play hoop workshop before lunch and then headed down to the beach to get in on the music. I went on ahead to shower and was surprised to see everything set up right in front of the bathroom. So I got to enjoy a hot shower to music~!

After, while I waited for the rest of my group to arrive, I met an extremely friendly older (surfer) couple, and we watched the waves together with their friends. A centaur-man also provided some entertainment for a while (if you saw the video, you know).

Then the Guru Guru group burst onto the scene and we had some delicious Kansai-style Takoyaki and grilled chicken and photo shoots, and, on and off,  hooped our asses off. It was definitely more of a friendly and easygoing atmosphere here than at the Mt. Fuji Festival. Best moment of the party was definitely when the whole crowd was singing “One Love,” arms around each other – felt like I was in a Eugene event! I think I like Japanese surfer types. 🙂 A lot are also apparently from the Kansai area, so perhaps that would be a more chill area to live in than among the metropolitan types of Tokyo…

As the party ended and I started chatting with a Japanese woman who’d just gotten married that day to her American beau, a trio of drunken men approached us, speaking very clear English like most of the young people I’ve spoken to on the Island. The one who reminded me a lot of Zach, in terms of appearance and sense of humor, wasted no time in making it clear that he was trying to hook me up with his “shy” Japanese buddy with the “giant penis”. They were just silly and funny about the whole thing – and the friend in question, though polite, was quite embarrassed – so even though the other two persisted through my claims of being already taken (it was just getting more racy at this point), it wasn’t hard to take it in stride and in good cheer.  I managed to dodge them as an equipment van moved through the floor, though I can’t say I wasn’t enjoying the jokes.

After the party was over, we had a large dinner of curry and hummus from the last of Kristen’s camp food, and also shared food with Dex, a surfer from Australia. Then we had a hoop meditation workshop and spun fire! It was Keiko’s first time playing with fire, and though she was terrified, she’s resolved to get herself a fire hoop too~ Cathrine was also absolutely hilarious; I wish I’d gotten her look of sheer terror just isolating the hoop before finally flinging it away in a panic.

As everybody dropped off to sleep, Shiho, Bekah, and I were also invited to join a mixed group of Japanese surfers and foreigners – which included the centaur guy – to a nighttime chat and food. I can’t remember all of the people I met that night, but the fun time was worth a few hours less of sleep.

In the morning, we all packed up together, and pretty much the whole campgrounds except Sayaka (Cat Girl) and Kristen and Todd headed off to the ship. Good bye Nijiima! Until we see you again! (I’ll bring my sexy poi-spinning boyfriend next time, too<3)

Journey Home – But still together

Bekah and Shiho and I all had floor spaces at the bottom of the ship. I also managed to switch spaces with a family who’d reserved just one space (mine was a really good isolated spot yet again) – so we had 3 whole spaces to fit in our friends who had seat-less tickets. The ship was packed, with people settling down, and even sleeping, in any bit of floor space they could find, whether in front of the showers or up on deck where it was cold and windy.

We spent the ride home dozing, eating, and going over the pictures Rob had taken over the weekend.

Since my camera was dead by Friday, I’ll link his pictures instead (his are way better anyway):

General Camping/hooping/fire spinning funtimes (my days come in around the middle): http://gallery.me.com/robmoreno#100151

Beach Party funtimes and Photoshoot: http://gallery.me.com/robmoreno#100190

More photoshoot: http://gallery.me.com/robmoreno#100183

We walked to Hamamatsucho station together and broke off little by little. Swinky offered us all lodgings should we ever come to visit Kenya, and we all promised to hoop together again one day. Keiko and Bekah and I took the Yamanote Line towards Shinagawa, and in the end, Bekah and I were left to say our last parting wishes. I wish I didn’t have to leave; returning to the silent crowds of Tokyo felt so alien after the open characters of Niijima.

I’ll be in Osaka to visit Bekah once before I return to America, though. And though Shiho will be in Sydney from now on, I’m sure we’ll meet again one day – and they’ll all wow me with their amazing new skills. I’ve realized, from playing and teaching a little, that it would be nice to teach hoop someday – as an actual teacher. I’ll consider trying out for the free school in Eugene, perhaps.

So now, it’s back to the routine; though it’s been far from boring. I daydreamed about Niijima often in the past week, but the Sri Lanka dance group also has its charms. I went to my first Nomikai last night with them, and it was not disappointing. A little drink does indeed help with language skills – if not in actual ability, but in confidence and flow of words. And of course, a drinking party is not complete without someone who drank too much and ends up throwing up outside in the streets.

The group is a responsible one though, and a couple managed to find Daizo when he wandered off alone and help him get home. I’m still grumbling to myself about the cost of the WIF t-shirt that’s required (2500 yen), and training camp (4-5000 yen), not to mention the actual dance clothes and the Nomikai that I forced myself to go to. But I don’t regret joining the group. Definitely going all the way with this one.

Looking forward to the days to come!

Oh, and I also went to the Ghibli Museum in Mitaki today, so here are pictures from that! We couldn’t take pictures inside the museum, so if you wanna see the beauty and magic of it all, you’ll have to come see for yourself~

2 thoughts on “The Best End to a Golden Week (+ surprise pics)

  1. what an awesome adventure you had!!! The pictures are fantastic and I love that action hooping on the sea wall and in the waves. Great stuff!!! Keep enjoying yourself. I’m getting more and more excited to head down to Mexico! (sidenote: Maybe I can get some tips for blogging, pics, n skyping from you!)

Leave a comment